Surfers of the World Elect Four New Members of the ISA Athletes’ Commission

September 22nd, 2022

Surfers from around the world elected Afridun Amu (AFG), Leilani McGonagle (CRC), Leandro Usuna (ARG), and Natasha van Greunen (RSA) to the International Surfing Association (ISA) Athletes’ Commission (AC).

In the first election of its kind in ISA history, the newly elected members join (AC Chair) Justine Dupont (FRA), Alana Nichols (USA), and Casper Steinfath (DEN) to complete the commission. (The first commission was appointed by the ISA Executive Committee).

The election represents a major milestone for the ISA as the International Federation governing surfing at the world and Olympic level.  The election, part of reforms enacted in 2018, reinforces the ISA’s commitment to engaging and representing the athletes’ voice in the leadership of the sport.

The composition of the ISA Athletes Commission (ISA AC)  represents 4 continents and is comprised of over 50% women which further exemplifies the evolution of gender equality within the sport of Surfing. The 7 ISA AC members represent a variety of Surfing disciplines including Shortboard, Longboard, SUP Surf, SUP Race, and Para Surfing.

The virtual election was conducted online by an independent, third-party provider (GetQuorum) during the ISA World Surfing Games from September 15 – 20, 2022.

Only active shortboard surfers having competed in ISA events from 2019 to present were eligible to vote.

The ISA AC will have the first in-person meeting this upcoming October in Biarritz, France, in which the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and ISA will give background on the role of an AC, outline priorities of the ISA AC, spread awareness of various services and programs available to athletes, and more.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, said:

“What an amazing moment for these accomplished athletes!  But also, for the ISA to give these active athletes the opportunity to be elected by their peers and to serve their sport outside the water. The athletes are at the center of the ISA.”

“I look forward to working with the new members and the entire commission in ensuring the athletes’ voice is heard and promoted at an executive level.”

The complete ISA AC Composition and biographies follows (add links to bios)


Ms. Justine Dupont (FRA)

Ex Officio

Ms. Barbara Kendall (NZL)


Mr. Afridun Amu (AFG)

Ms. Leilani McGonagle (CRC)

Ms. Alana Nichols (USA)

Mr. Casper Steinfath (DEN)

Mr. Leandro Usuna (ARG)

Ms. Natasha van Greunen (RSA)

ISA Staff Liaison

Ms. Megan Burns (USA)

Your cart

No products in the cart.